Fronius Primo 5.0
Fronius Primo 5.0-1 · Fronius
Grid-tie, single-phase
Good to know
- Turns panel power into household power and sends any surplus to the grid. It has no battery, so it switches off in a power cut or during load-shedding.
- Output 5000 W (5000 VA).
- Takes up to 7500 W of panels (up to 1000 V, 2 MPPT inputs).
- NRS 097-2-1 (the South African grid code): not stated on the datasheet, so ask the seller. Municipalities generally ask for this certificate before you connect a system that can feed the grid.
- Warranty: Not stated on the datasheet.
Where to buy
Shops that list this model, by city:
Durban
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): ACDC Dynamics (Riverhorse Branch).
Cape Town
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Current Automation (Cape Town branch) | PRIMO 5.0-1 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): ACDC Dynamics (Cape Town Branch), GW Store.
How it compares
Fewer than three grid-tie, single-phase inverters are listed here yet, so there is no side-by-side comparison for it.
Datasheet numbers
| Type | Grid-tie, single-phase |
|---|---|
| Rated / max output | 5000 W / 5000 W |
| Surge | – |
| Rated output current | 21.7 A |
| UPS / transfer time | – |
| Max PV power / voltage | 7500 W / 1000 V |
| MPPT range | 80-800 V (usable MPP range; DC input 80-1000 V; feed-in start 80 V) |
| MPPTs / strings | 2 / 2+2 DC connections |
| Max current per MPPT | 12 A |
| Battery voltage | – (–) |
| Battery types | – |
| Max charge / discharge | – / – |
| Efficiency: peak / European / MPPT | 98.1 % / 97.1 % / 99.9 % |
| Feeds the grid | yes |
| NRS 097-2-1 | not stated |
| Generator input | no |
| Parallel units | – |
| Protection | IP65 |
| Operating temperature | -40 to 55 °C |
| Cooling | Regulated air cooling |
| Weight / size | 21.5 kg / 645 x 431 x 204 (H x W x D) mm |
| Monitoring | WLAN / Ethernet LAN; Fronius Solar.web, Modbus TCP SunSpec, Solar API (JSON); integrated datalogger and web server; RS485 Modbus RTU; USB |
| Warranty | – |
Source: maker's datasheet (Datasheet Fronius Primo EN, PDF dated 2022-12-21, manufacturer domain).