Sungrow SH8.0RS
SH8.0RS · Sungrow
Hybrid, single-phase
Good to know
- Runs the home from panels, a battery and the grid, and keeps the power on in a power cut when a battery is connected.
- Output 8000 W, surge 13680 W for 10 s.
- Takes up to 16000 W of panels (up to 600 V, 4 MPPT inputs).
- Battery: 80-460 V, charging up to 50 A.
- Switches to backup in 10 ms (the datasheet's UPS / transfer time).
- NRS 097-2-1 (the South African grid code): not stated on the datasheet, so ask the seller. Municipalities generally ask for this certificate before you connect a system that can feed the grid.
- Warranty: Not stated on the datasheet.
Check this: Needs a high-voltage battery: Sungrow's datasheet gives a battery range of 80 V to 460 V, so the usual 48 V / 51.2 V home batteries listed here won't work with it. Ask the seller which battery it is sold with.
Where to buy
Shops that list this model, by city:
Durban
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herholdt's Group (Durban branch) trade | SG-SH8.0RS | – | listing |
Johannesburg
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herholdt's Group (Johannesburg branch) trade | SG-SH8.0RS | – | listing |
Cape Town
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herholdt's Group (Cape Town / Brackengate branch) trade | SG-SH8.0RS | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): GW Store.
Pretoria
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herholdt's Group (Centurion branch) trade | SG-SH8.0RS | – | listing |
How it compares
Where it sits among the 10 hybrid, single-phase inverters listed here (the best gets a full bar, the weakest a fifth). Bigger models aren't "better" here: the numbers are ratios or percentages.
Datasheet numbers
| Type | Hybrid, single-phase |
|---|---|
| Rated / max output | 8000 W / 8000 W |
| Surge | 13680 W for 10 s |
| Rated output current | – |
| UPS / transfer time | 10 ms |
| Max PV power / voltage | 16000 W / 600 V |
| MPPT range | 40-560 V (start-up 50 V; rated 360 V) |
| MPPTs / strings | 4 / 1+1+1+1 |
| Max current per MPPT | 16 A |
| Battery voltage | – (80-460 V) |
| Battery types | Li-ion battery |
| Max charge / discharge | 50 A / 50 A |
| Efficiency: peak / European / MPPT | 97.4 % / 96.8 % / – |
| Feeds the grid | yes |
| NRS 097-2-1 | not stated |
| Generator input | – |
| Parallel units | On-grid master-slave mode (max. number not stated) |
| Protection | IP65 |
| Operating temperature | -25 to 60 °C |
| Cooling | Natural cooling |
| Weight / size | 29 kg / 605 x 435 x 181 (W x H x D) mm |
| Monitoring | LED digital display and LED indicator; RS485, WLAN, Ethernet, CAN; iSolarCloud app and web |
| Warranty | – |
Source: maker's datasheet (SH8.0/10RS datasheet Version 3 (c) 2024, '(AU)' edition, linked from Sungrow's product pages; cross-checked with the IEC edition Version 13 (c) 2023).