Deye SG04LP1 5kW
SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 · Deye
Hybrid, single-phase
Good to know
- Runs the home from panels, a battery and the grid, and keeps the power on in a power cut when a battery is connected.
- Output 5000 W, surge 10000 W for 10 s.
- Takes up to 8000 W of panels (up to 500 V, 2 MPPT inputs).
- Battery: 40-60 V, charging up to 120 A.
- NRS 097-2-1 (the South African grid code): stated. Municipalities generally ask for this certificate before you connect a system that can feed the grid.
- Warranty: '5 Years / Up to 10 Years' - period varies by installation country per Deye's warranty policy; SA term not stated on the datasheet.
Where to buy
Shops that list this model, by city:
Durban
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): Central Solar Supplies (KwaZulu-Natal branch), Solar Supply Durban, TechHut.
Johannesburg
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solar Warehouse SA (Sandton branch) | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | R 13 800 | listing |
| EasyPower Solar | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | R 14 588 ex VAT | listing |
| JC Solar Panels (Enerlux) | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | R 15 699 VAT not stated | listing |
| SunStore (Amperion Energy) | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | R 14 548 | listing |
| Ultra Solar City | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | R 13 999 VAT not stated | listing |
| Rubicon (Galaxy, Johannesburg branch) trade | SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): TechSun Solar.
Cape Town
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): Central Solar Supplies (Cape Town branch), Current Automation (Cape Town branch), TBS Solar, GW Store, Solar Stock, Solar Sonic.
How it compares
Where it sits among the 6 hybrid, single-phase inverters listed here (the best gets a full bar, the weakest a fifth). Bigger models aren't "better" here: the numbers are ratios or percentages.
Datasheet numbers
| Type | Hybrid, single-phase |
|---|---|
| Rated / max output | 5000 W / 5500 W |
| Surge | 10000 W for 10 s |
| Rated output current | 21.8 A |
| UPS / transfer time | – |
| Max PV power / voltage | 8000 W / 500 V |
| MPPT range | 150-425 V (start-up 125 V) |
| MPPTs / strings | 2 / 1+1 |
| Max current per MPPT | 18 A |
| Battery voltage | – (40-60 V) |
| Battery types | Lead-acid or Lithium-ion |
| Max charge / discharge | 120 A / 120 A |
| Efficiency: peak / European / MPPT | 97.6 % / 96.5 % / 99 % |
| Feeds the grid | yes |
| NRS 097-2-1 | yes |
| Generator input | yes |
| Parallel units | Up to 16 units (on-grid and off-grid) |
| Protection | IP65 |
| Operating temperature | -40 to 60 °C (derating above 45 °C) |
| Cooling | Natural cooling |
| Weight / size | 19 kg / 376 x 470 x 241.5 (W x H x D, excl. connectors and brackets) mm |
| Monitoring | Colour touch LCD; Wi-Fi, RS485, CAN |
| Warranty | 5 years |
Source: maker's datasheet (SUN-3/3.6/5/6K-SG04LP1 datasheet EN, file dated 2026-09-11, manufacturer domain).