Shoto SDC10-Box5
SDC10-Box5 · Shoto
Good to know
A 5.12 kWh LiFePO4 battery made in China.
About 4.9 kWh usable: enough to run a 1 kW load (fridge, lights, TV, Wi-Fi and a laptop together) for about 5 hours.
Gives up to 4.1 kW continuously, 5.4 kW for 10 s.
The maker lists it as working with Deye, Growatt, Goodwe, Victron, Sofar, SMA, SRNE and LUX inverters.
Warranty: 5 years.
Check this: Shoto now also publishes a newer datasheet (2026) with different figures, e.g. 4.096 kWh usable at 80% DoD; the numbers here are from the 2024 datasheet. Ask which version you are offered.
Where to buy
Shops that list this model, by city:
Durban
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Solar Supplies (KwaZulu-Natal branch) | SDC10-BOX 5 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): Solar Supply Durban, TechHut.
Johannesburg
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solar Warehouse SA (Sandton branch) | SDC10-Box 5 | R 12 950 | listing |
| Ultra Solar City | SDC10-Box 5 | R 12 650 VAT not stated | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): EasyPower Solar, JC Solar Panels (Enerlux), TechSun Solar.
Cape Town
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Solar Supplies (Cape Town branch) | SDC10-BOX 5 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): TBS Solar, GW Store, Solar Stock, Solar Sonic.
Pretoria
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| MacSell Solar Outlet | SDC10-Box 5 | R 12 950 VAT not stated | listing |
| GC Solar Pretoria East | SDC10 | R 16 500 VAT not stated | listing |
| Solar Europe Importers | SDC10-Box5 | R 11 700 ex VAT | listing |
| Central Solar Supplies (Pretoria head office) | SDC10-BOX 5 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): Solar Tech Wholesalers trade.
Ekurhuleni
| Shop | Listed as | Price seen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solar Warehouse SA (Kempton Park branch) | SDC10-Box 5 | R 12 950 | listing |
| Solar Importers & Wholesalers | SDC10 Box 5 | – | listing |
Also stock this brand (ask them for this model): BHG Power Storage Solutions.
How it compares
Where it sits among the 16 home batteries listed here (the best gets a full bar, the weakest a fifth, a figure the datasheet doesn't give none). Size isn't scored: the bars are shares and ratios. Cycle counts are measured at different depths and end points by each maker, so read them as a rough guide.
Datasheet numbers
| Chemistry / form | LiFePO4 / rack |
|---|---|
| Made in | China |
| Energy: nominal / usable | 5.12 kWh / 4.86 kWh |
| Depth of discharge | – |
| Voltage: nominal (range) | 51.2 V (45.0-56.4 V) |
| Max charge / discharge | 50 A / 100 A |
| Continuous / peak power | 4.1 kW / 5.4 kW for 10 s |
| Cycle life | 6000 at 80% DoD, to 70% capacity |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Parallel units | – |
| Communication | CAN, RS485 |
| Inverters the maker lists | Deye, Growatt, Goodwe, Victron, Sofar, SMA, SRNE, LUX, Solis, TBB, Soruide, Megarevo, Sungrow, Afore, Sacolar, SMK solar and Voltronic |
| Certificates | UL1973, IEC62477, IEC62619, CE-EMC, VDE2510-50, CEI0-21, UKCA, UN38.3 |
| Protection | IP20 |
| Operating temperature | charge -5 to 45 °C; discharge -20 to 50 °C (recommended 15 to 35 °C) |
| Weight / size | 40 kg / 443 x 135 x 440 (W x H x D) mm |
Source: maker's datasheet (SDC10-Box5 LV series datasheet V1.0-20240710 (chinashoto.com product page)).